Early years

Most bands come to fruition out of wanting to make some noise, and perhaps equally to make noise that is different to what is currently out there. This is undoubtedly where Coco came from too. The original band consisted of Anne Booty and Milan Simic, tracks were primarily written in Milan’s bedroom on a 303 with crisps, lots of beer. Hooking up with old friends Tummy Touch Records, they decided to release Your Love Is Gum as a single. Remixed by Paul Harrison, Anne then continued working with Paul (and new recruit Matty Skylab) on the debut and second albums. They are currently writing their third album together.

Coco Electrik first surfaced with Your Love Is Gum, a split single with then label-mate Tom Vek. A series of singles followed on Tummy Touch Records and Anne’s own label, Oscillation Records. In 2007 they released debut album Army Behind The Sun. She has also lent vocals to Acoustic Ladyland’s much praised Cuts & Lies single from their album Skinny Grin, been featured on the soundtrack to The Coen Brother’s Burn After Reading and cult Australian drama Underbelly and remixed Brooklyn wunderkind Kotchy, The Phenomenal Handclap Band as well as being remixed by, amongst others, Mickey Moonlight (Ed Banger Records) and Skylab (who also co-produced many of the tracks on the first album).

White Ink (2010/11)

2010/11 has seen the release of their second album White Ink (8/10 Vice Magazine). The albums was written and recorded by Coco Electrik catalyst Anne Booty and long-term recording partner Paul Harrison (Royal Appointment) and features appearances from George Demure (Output, Tirk) Kreeps (Output) and Pete Wareham (Acoustic Ladyland, Polar Bear). The album was mastered by Robert Harder. They have released the singles Shine A Light, Fire & Ice and Black Widow as well as their remix of Black Devil Disco Club on Lo Recordings.

Coco Electrik have performed with amongst others, Punks Jump Up, The Phenomenal Handclap Band, Whitey, Alexander Robotnick, Tom Vek, and Greco-Roman Soundsystem.

They have toured and played one-off shows in Spain, Sweden, Germany, Norway, France and Australia.

Band members:

Anne Booty (vocals/synths)
Dan Whittaker (synths/effects)
Adam de Gruchy (synths/bass/vocals)
Martin Dean (drums)

Past members
Milan Simic
Matty Skylab